Stay informed with our    e-mail newsletter
Your e-mail adress

ʿAfrin: Long prison terms for members of PDK‑S

KUDWATCH, May 30, 2014 – On April 29, 2014, the People’s Court in ʿAfrin, an institution of the Democratic Union Party (PYD), sentenced a number of politicians to long prison terms. Bayazid Muhammad Mamo, Siamand Ibrahim Barim, and Muhammad Saʿid Muhammad ʿIsu were sentenced to ten years in prison. They are accused of committing a bomb attack on the PYD‑affiliated Center for the Union of Free Media on September 4, 2013 in ʿAfrin.
Muhiyuddin Shaikh Sidi and Muhammad Hasan Husayn were sentenced in absentia to twenty years in prison. They were charged with committing a bomb attack on a building belonging to the PYD‑affiliated organization Institutions of Civil Society [further information] on August 22, 2013 in ʿAfrin. Agid Musa Mustafa, Rasul Ismaʿil Muhammad, and Adham Anwar Khalil were sentenced to seven years in prison for a bomb attack committed on November 27, 2012 in ʿAfrin. Hanan Aslan Maʿmu, Rezan Rasul Muhammad, and Hamid Jamal were sentenced in absentia to fifteen years in prison on the same grounds. Hasan Mustafa Shandi was sentenced in absentia to twenty years in prison, Jiwan ʿAdnan Shaikhu to seven years. They are charged with a bomb attack against a PYD-affiliated women’s organization in ʿAfrin on July 4, 2012. All those convicted are members or supporters of the Kurdistan Democratic Party – Syria (PDK‑S). They must serve their sentences in the ʿAfrin prison, which is controlled by the PYD.


www.kurdwatch.org -  © 2009 - 2015 [ E-Mail: info@kurdwatch.org ]